Jazz Band, Show Choir, and Jazz Choir Festivals

Registration Deadline:     November 29, 2023
Penalty Deadline: December 6, 2023
Festival Date: January 22, 2024 (Jazz Band, North – All Classes: in-person)
  January 27, 2024 (Jazz Band, South – All Classes: in-person)
  January 29, 2024 (Show Choir, All Classes: in-person)
  February 5, 2024 (Jazz Choir, All Classes: in-person)
Registration Fee:

Show Choirs/Jazz Bands: – $175.00; Jazz Choirs: – $150.00

Admission Fee: Adult – $10.00; Seniors (62+) – $7.00; Student – $5.00

Information for the General Public

Looking for your school’s performance location? Click here: Site Assignments – 2023

Admission Fee: Adult – $10.00; Senior (62+) – $7.00; Student – $5.00

2024 Festival Results

Information for Directors

DIRECTOR INFORMATION including General Rules and Regulations, Jazz Band Regulations, Show Choir Regulations, and Jazz Choir Regulations

Copyright Compliance: License Verification System

Registration Forms:

Sample Adjudication Forms:


IHSMA Jazz Band Festival is set up with a north/south format:

  • Monday of Week 30 (Monday, January 22, 2024) is the date for the IHSMA Jazz Band Festival, North – all classes.
    The Monday festival will begin between 3:30 and 4:00 PM and conclude ~ 9:00 PM.
  • Saturday of Week 30 (Saturday, January 27, 2024) as the date for IHSMA Jazz Band Festival, South – all classes.
    The Saturday festival will begin at 8:00 AM and conclude ~ 5:00 PM.

Counties assigned to the north date include: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Delaware, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy , Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jones, Kossuth, Linn, Lyon, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

Counties assigned to the south date include: Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Cass, Cedar, Clarke, Clinton, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Fremont, Guthrie, Harrison, Henry, Iowa, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, Page, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Scott, Shelby, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, and Wayne.

Awards Information: 

Several of our documents can be
downloaded in PDF format. To view PDF files, you
will need Adobe Acrobat Reader. If you need the
Acrobat reader software, click
Instructions for Installing Adobe Acrobat Reader!